Erasing Your Data from a Donated Device

By Lisa Salinger

If you have an older iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad, you may be willing to donate it to our iDevices project, but you find there’s one thing holding you back. This device has lots of your personal information on it, and rightly so you are concerned about having your valuable info get into the wrong hands. However, the process of completely erasing your device is simple and permanent. For this reason, do not go through the steps below unless you are ready to reset your phone.

1. Back up your information. The procedure of backing up is a bit outside the scope of this article. However, you can save this information to your computer or to the cloud. If you do not know how to do this, seek help from a friend, technology trainer, Apple Support Person, or online article.
2. Open the Settings app on your phone. Then, choose General, and activate it.
3. At the bottom of this screen you will find an option labeled Reset, which you should activate.
4. You will then have a list of the various kinds of resets you can do. Choose the option, Erase all Content and Settings. If your phone is locked with a passcode, you will be asked to enter it.
5. The message, “This will delete all media and data, and reset all settings,” will be displayed. At this point, choose Erase to continue, or Cancel to stop.
6. Since the reset also affects your accessibility features, you can either get sighted help to turn off the device, or you can send it as is. If you do this, the battery will likely be flat when the unit is received, but it can easily be recharged.

Like the post? Share it!

Comments are closed.